Barbara Grazina
Portugal
Local time: 07:53
Member (May 2024)
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 4

Hello fellow language professionals

I am new to the translation work and have recently been asked by a client to translate a book (from German to Portuguese). However, this client is not the author of the book and, since I am interested in accepting the offer, I was wondering if it makes any sense for him to ask me to translate a book of which he is not the author. I've always thought that when someone's book is translated, the translator ought to be in direct contact with the autho
... See more
Hello fellow language professionals

I am new to the translation work and have recently been asked by a client to translate a book (from German to Portuguese). However, this client is not the author of the book and, since I am interested in accepting the offer, I was wondering if it makes any sense for him to ask me to translate a book of which he is not the author. I've always thought that when someone's book is translated, the translator ought to be in direct contact with the author - it just makes more sense and is of course necessary for the translator to clear any doubt he may have about the source text.
Also, just to clarify, my client is involved in an organisation that is related to the contents of the book and that is why he is interested in having the book translated.

I am also wondering that maybe the author of the book in question can't even afford to translate his book or that he may not be interested in translating it into my language (for now, at least). If that would be the case, then it seems to make sense that my client pays me for the translation while I am still in contact with the author for the reasons above mentioned.

What is your exeperience with such projects? Should I propose my client to directely contact the author?

Thank you all.

[Modificato alle 2024-06-04 11:58 GMT]
Collapse

Ramzie Alrtb

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified